You are here

About ACEMaths Project

The community of practice for the ACEMaths module, Teaching and Learning Mathematics in Diverse Classrooms, consisted of a team of mathematics and inclusive education specialists from eight South African higher education institutions offering teacher education programmes.

There were two phases to the project: selecting and adapting the materials; and using the pilot version of the adapted materials in a variety of programmes. Both phases were managed through a series of workshops at the SAIDE offices, as well as through email contact between participants.

Once the pilot version and being used, take-up research in six of the eight participating institutions was conducted. In February 2008, the final workshop was held to report on the results of the take-up research and to develop a plan for the revision of the pilot materials in the light of comment from lecturers, students as well as expert review. The materials are now available for downloading and adaptation from this site.

Participating Institutions

South African Institute for Distance Education (Saide)

The South African Institute for Distance Education is a non-governmental organisation based in Johannesburg but conducting projects throughout South Africa and, increasingly, in sub-Saharan Africa. Saide's task is to contribute to the development of new models of distance education practice, that accord with and take forward the values, principles, and goals of the evolving education systems in the region. Saide was founded in 1992 as a non-profit educational trust. Saide is committed to increasing democratic access to knowledge, skills and learning though the adoption of open learning principles and distance education strategies. Please see for further information.

University of South Africa (UNISA)

The University of South Africa is well known as the largest university in Africa, and one of the largest distance education institutions in the world. UNISA contributed the core module for the ACEMaths project. The module comes from UNISA’s Advanced Certificate in Education (Mathematics for the Intermediate and Senior Phase), which received full accreditation in the national review of teacher education programmes in 2007. For more information see

University of the Witwatersrand (WITS)

The University of the Witwatersrand offers a wide range of programmes, with teacher education taking place on the Education Campus, formally the campus of the Johannesburg College of Education (JCE). Legally and administratively, the incorporation of JCE with Wits was completed in 2001. The Wits School of Education offers both contact and mixed mode programmes for the initial, continuing and academic study of education. Please see for further information.

Centre for Research and Development into Mathematics, Science and Technology Education (RADMASTE) 

The Centre for Research and Development into Mathematics, Science and Technology Education was established in the 1980’s. In association with the Wits School of Education, RADMASTE takes responsibility for the development and implementation of Advanced Certificate in Education (ACE) programmes for Mathematics and Science. Initially the majority of our students came from the Mpumalanga province, but we have also always had some students from Gauteng. Read more about our work at

Rhodes University Mathematics Education Project (RUMEP)

The Rhodes University Mathematics Education Project is an independently funded NGO linked to the University with the specific aim of improving the quality of mathematics teaching and learning, mainly in the deep rural areas of the Eastern Cape. Although the unit is not formally part of the Rhodes University Department of Education, it is an integral part of the Faculty of Education through the accredited courses that are offered at RUMEP. Read more about our work at

University of KwaZulu-Natal (UKZN)

The University of KwaZulu-Natal unites two major educational institutions in KwaZulu-Natal – the University of Natal and the University of Durban-Westville. The Faculty of Education offers a wide range of undergraduate degrees and diplomas as well as postgraduate certificates, Honours, Masters and Doctoral studies programmes. Please see for further information.

Cape Peninsula University of Technology (CPUT)

In 2001 the Boland and Hewitt/Cape Town Colleges of Education were incorporated into the Cape Technikon, forming the Faculty of Education and Social Sciences at Wellington and Mowbray campuses. The Cape Peninsula University of Technology (CPUT) was subsequently formed from the merger of the Cape Technikon and Peninsula Technikon, effective from late 2003. Our mathematics education lecturers are involved in teacher education on both the Wellington Campus and Mowbray Campus. Please see for further information.

Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University (NMMU)

The Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University opened on 1 January 2005, the result of the merging of the PE Technikon, the University of Port Elizabeth (UPE) and the Port Elizabeth campus of Vista University (Vista PE). The Teachers’ Training College in Summerstrand was taken over by the Technikon in 1994, and so ultimately it also became part of NMMU. Mathematics teacher education at the university is offered through a teaching degree, advanced certificate or post-graduate certificate in the School for Professional Teacher Education at South campus. Please see for further information.

University of Venda for Science and Technology

The University of Venda for Science and Technology is a comprehensive university that offers career-focused programmes in the humanities, social sciences, natural and applied sciences. In the field of teacher education, it delivers both initial and in-service/upgrading teacher education programmes, with a particular focus on Mathematics, Science and Technology. For more information, please see